ARTICLE 2 DEFINITIONS

- A. University: Temple University Of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education.
- B. Temple: The Board of Trustees, President and university Officers, Deans, Department Chairs and such other supervisors and managerial personnel as defined in the Public Employe Relations Act 195.
- C. Board of Trustees: The Board of Trustees of Temple University Of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education.
- D. President: The President of Temple University Of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education.
- E. College or School and Division: The terms are interchangeable and refer to the colleges and schools and division now included in the TAUP bargaining unit, namely:

Art and Architecture, Tyler School of
Business and Management, Fox School of
Education, College of
Engineering, College of
Liberal Arts, College of
Media and Communications, School of
Music and Dance, Esther Boyer College of
Pharmacy, School of
Public Health, College of
Science and Technology, College of
Social Work, School of
Theater and Film and Media Arts, Division of
Tourism and Hospitality Management, School of

- F. Dean: The chief executive officer of each College or School of Temple University.
- G. TAUP: The Temple Association of University Professionals, American Federation of Teachers, Local #4531, AFL-CIO.
- H. Members of the Bargaining Unit: Faculty, librarians, and academic professionals represented by TAUP for purposes of collective bargaining.
- I. Department Chair: A faculty member who is the designated head of an academic department or degree-granting program.
- J. Faculty: All employees of Temple University in a faculty classification (such as, but not limited to, faculty who are tenured or on the tenure-track, Research Faculty, Clinician Educator Faculty, Practice Faculty, Teaching/Instruction Faculty, Adjunct Faculty) in a College or School included in the bargaining unit.

- K. Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty: All faculty who are tenured or by the terms of their appointment by the President are eligible for tenure.
- L. Nontenure-Track Faculty: All full-time faculty who are classified as Lecturers, Researchers, Practice Faculty, Teaching/Instructional Faculty or Clinician Educators.
- M. Adjunct Faculty: All part time faculty who are classified as adjuncts, artists-in-residence or clinical adjunct faculty as defined in Article 1.C.
- N. Librarians: All full-time professional librarians functioning primarily as librarians, on the Charles Library budget or in a College or School included in the bargaining unit.
- O. Academic Professionals: Full-time employees whose work is necessary or adjunct to the teaching of students or to research functions of the university.
- P. Gender: To maintain equity in referring to gender identity, "they" and "their" will be used in this Agreement to refer to individuals of any gender. It shall import the plural whenever applicable but a distinction between singular and plural will be made if necessary to clarify the intention of the language.
- Q. Designated university officer/administrative officer: Any Temple administrative employee designated by the President.